Planning & Zoning Commission

The Planning and Zoning Commission consists of seven (7) members appointed by the mayor, with the formal consent of the Town Council. Five (5) of the members appointed shall be residents of the Town and two (2) may be at large. Members of the Commission shall be appointed for staggered terms of two (2) years each. P&Z Commission members may be reappointed for no more than three (3) Consecutive additional terms of two (2) years each.


  • 6:00 p.m.
  • 1st Wednesday of every month
  • Town Council Chambers
    120 Civic Plaza Drive
    Taos, NM 87571

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Commission Members:




Norbert Mondragon


June 30, 2025

Genevieve Oswald


June 30, 2024

Kenneth Martinez


December 31, 2024

Tetsuro Namba


June 30, 2025

James Gooch


December 31, 2023

Angelo DeHerrera


December 31, 2023

David Rael


December 31, 2024

More Information

For more information, email Dinah Gonzales, Senior Planner, or call 575-751-2034.


The Planning and Zoning Commission is comprised of residents with a broad spectrum of expertise, 5 members that reside within the Town of Taos and 2 members at large. All members are appointed by the Mayor with the formal consent of the Town Council.


Duties and responsibilities of the Planning and Zoning Commissioners are as follows:

  • To exercise all powers granted to a planning authority or zoning commission by the Town Code
  • To review, modify, reverse, affirm, approve, or disapprove all applications with or without conditions, restrictions, or clarifications
  • To hold public hearings and recommend changes to the Town Council
  • To approve, disapprove, modify, revise and update the Town of Taos Master Plan
  • To approve and adopt such forms as the Commission deems advisable